Home>BLOG>Pepper Spray Laws: Big change may be coming to Massachusetts
Pepper Spray Laws: Big change may be coming to Massachusetts
April 14th, 2014
Buying pepper spray in the state of Massachusetts is likely to get a whole lot easier.Last Tuesday The House committee voted 142-0 to pass a bill that would allow anyone over the age of 18 to purchase pepper spray without a Firearms Identification Card. Presently, in order to purchase pepper spray you have to go to the police station, pay $25 dollars ($100 for out of state) and fill out an application for a Firearms Identification Card. The wait for approval is typically several days but in some cases could turn into a month or even longer. The final bill will be presented separately to both the House and Senate for approval and then to Gov. Deval Patrick for his signature.
For those involved in abusive relationships, the difference between immediate access to pepper spray and having to wait a day could mean the difference between life and death. While lawmakers know that more needs to be done to protect victims and prosecute batterers they agree that this is a huge improvement over current laws and a great first step in changing the lives of women and other victims across the state.